February Day 11

Standard

Whoopsie. So yesterday being a public holiday and the first official “family day” where I live, I decided to forfeit my daily post in favour of quality time with the fam. Yup. You got that right. I’m the best damn procrastinator there is. Actually, I read something interesting today that sums up what kind of procrastinator I am. Writer and happiness expert, Gretchen Rubin (The lady behind ‘The Happiness Project’ phenomenon) is now exploring habits: specifically how to make and break habits. She says that often in life we create loopholes and thatLoopholes matter, because when we try to form and keep habits, we often search for loopholes. We look for justifications that will excuse us from keeping this particular habit in this particular situation.” When I read that on her website http://www.gretchenrubin.com, I had a eureka moment. Because that is exactly what I do whenever I don’t want to do something. I look for the loophole. In actual fact, I’m a loophole master. A flipping loophole ninja. But that ain’t nuthin’ to be shouting from the rooftops! Ain’t nobody got anywhere by setting low standards and putting shit off. So I reckon that’s what I need to do. I need to figure out how to shake off my loophole shackles. Stay tuned. If I turn up any good advice I’ll be sure to report back. But at least I’m back writing today and yesterday was such fun. Family day rocks. The five of us had a blast. It being a holiday Monday, of course the weather was Ff’ing horrific. I think that’s a universal law “It shall always rain or be shitty weather on a long weekend” cos no matter where I’ve lived in the world it is always wretched. So we decided to stay home, far from the family day crowds and spend the day hanging out together. To keep it fair we each got to chose an activity. So the day brimmed with eclectic variety. Amongst other things, we played play-doh, farms, we painted, sung karaoke, played video games and watched a movie. And no, I didn’t update my facebook status, with a smug boast about how sensational my family is. But let’s get real. I’m so over facebook now! Who needs to update their  status, when you have a whole blog to waffle on? This blog business allows you to over share. So be afraid, very afraid.

4 thoughts on “February Day 11

  1. Hi there would you mind stating which blog
    platform you’re working with? I’m going to start my
    own blog in the near future but I’m having a tough time selecting between BlogEngine/Wordpress/B2evolution and Drupal.

    The reason I ask is because your design and style seems different then most blogs and I’m looking for something completely unique.
    P.S My apologies for getting off-topic but I had to ask!

    • No problem!
      Choosing the right blog platform can be overwhelming. I went for WordPress and I have to say I’m delighted with it and the whole blog community they create. It’s awesome. Any other questions, just let me know!

  2. Hello! This post could not be written any better! Reading this post reminds me of my
    old room mate! He always kept talking about this. I will forward this post to him.
    Pretty sure he will have a good read. Thank you for sharing!

Leave a Reply

