February Day 28

Standard

Hello hello.

 

Well February is about to ‘do one’ and clear off, making the way for March. I love March. Why, because there are so many good things to be had. International Women’s Day. Mother’s Day. Steak and Blow job day. No really, it exists…I had to throw that one in to balance out my first two favs. Best of all, the clocks will go forward. That means the grey dark skies that greet you each morning and evening will soon be a distant memory. Spring will be getting her groove thang on and they’re ain’t nothing finer that the sweet cherry trees blossoming and the birds getting all frisky in the trees.
So my first Yifof challenge has been a success. No it wasn’t a biggie: write everyday. Including this post I have managed twenty days. Not bad for a procrastinator who can talk herself out of doing pretty much anything.
It’s a start and as that old proverb says, “a journey of a thousand miles begins with a single step” and if you’ve been paying attention up until now, you’ll know that I love a good cliche.
So I’ve been doing this Yifof for long enough now to get a variety of responses from my friends and people around me. The feedback has ranged from “Ohh you’re brave” to “Facebook is a waste of time anyway” to “Well why are you doing that? You’re a fucking nuisance, how am I supposed to contact you now!?”. To be honest, ditching Facebook was really only a way of taking charge of my life and making sure that I’m getting the most out of it. I found that since I got my smart phone, I wasn’t being smart with my time. In actual fact, I was being an absolute fuck-wit and checking Facebook had become a knee-jerk reaction. Some statistics say that teenagers check their phones and their social media accounts every eight minutes. I’m fairly sure I must have fallen into that category. It isn’t something to be proud of. I want to maximize my time. I don’t want to turn around at the end of my life and realize all I’ve done is watch the world go by through a manipulated lens.
So Facebook was the catalyst and I’m kind of glad, because it has sent me off on this personal quest to reinvent how I use my life. I want to make sure I iron out all the little niggly things that get on my nerves, the things I talk about remedying but never seem to have the time for.
So next month is March. It will be the start of a new challenge and as I mentioned in a previous post, I will be sorting out my abode and getting clear of clutter. It will also be know as Miser March, because for the first time in my life, I will be trying to stick to a budget. Actually working out what.the.fuck I spend money on. Because cash seems to just slip through my hands faster than a gambling addict at a roulette table. Fear not my three readers. There will be more than just my personal quest to read, so it won’t be like looking at the messed up spaghetti that is my head. Whatever happens, I promise NOT to report anything about my experiences on Steak and blow job day. Enjoy your weekend.

Leave a Reply

