Hump Day Hunger – I’m ffing STARVING

Standard

Hello Hello!

 

Well this week whistled past in Yifof’s world.
I celebrated my ten year-old’s birthday at a lazer tag party. I’ve had sick boisterous beings galore, complete with projectile vomiting. All. Over. The Bedroom. I’ve got a husband on crutches with ripped ligaments (see aforementioned lazer tag party).
And on Saturday, I had my last gorging/feasting/drinking session before my juicing cleanse reboot-whatever-the-fuck you want to call it started on Monday.
If you’ve been following this blog for a while, you’ll remember that each month I set myself a little challenge.
For May, I set myself the challenge of getting rid of my chronic hives by undertaking a ‘reboot’.
This is where you spend 10, 15 or 30 days juicing.
I was inspired to try this after seeing Joe Cross’s documentary “Fat, Sick and Nearly Dead”. Joe had the exact same condition as me and cured his chronic hives by hitting the juices. So I thought it was worth a try.
Leading up to the juice cleanse I was supposed to only eat raw food (ie fruit and veg).
Well, I lasted about a week. Shit, I know. The book I’m following “The Reboot with Joe Juice Diet” by Joe Cross says NOT to do that. But since Joe Cross himself dove in at the deep end, and did the very same, I though “Fuck it”.
So here I am on day three. Days one and two were fucking awful. Headaches. Grumpy and generally all round feeling shitty. It’s amazing that just by taking food out of the equation, your body starts to scream in defiance.
But I also knew that if I stuck it out for the initial tough three day period, I would start to feel better.
And here I am on day three feeling way better already.
So allow me to brag a little. This morning I went to the gym at SIX AM. I got the boisterous beings to school…ON TIME (a spring miracle I tell you).
I drank my ginger and lemon tea and then made myself the most amazing juice for breakfast:

juice

I guess you could say I’ve turned the detox corner.
I hope this determination lasts as I am planning to stick it out for another 27 days (and yes, I checked in with my doctor, who gave me her blessing).
But I’m still hungry and food seems to be everywhere. So with that in mind, this week’s hump day songs are devoted to food.
So make yourself a plate of something special. (Or if you’re rebooting like me, juice something sexy). Hit play and enjoy.
Bon appetit. And if anyone reading this is currently on a reboot/has done a reboot, or just wants to chat, please say hi…I need all the cheerleaders I can get right now.

1. Peaches by the Presidents of the United States

Yup. Peaches are yum and I’m allowed to juice these sexy, fruity mo-fos. Plus this song is kinda groovy. Not sure about the Ninjas turning up at the end of the video, but I suppose even men-in-black need a fruit fix. Lick the juice of your chin and enjoy.

==============================================================

2. Cigarettes and Chocolate Milk by Rufus Wainwright

This song was so fucking appropriate that I had to include it.
I mean look at these lyrics:
Cigarettes and chocolate milk
These are just a couple of my cravings
Everything it seems I like’s a little bit stronger
A little bit thicker, a little bit harmful for me

If I should buy jellybeans
Have to eat them all in just one sitting
Everything it seems I like’s a little bit sweeter
A little bit fatter, a little bit harmful for me

Especially the jelly beans and chocolate milk part. Ah Rufus. You know me so well.

=========================================================

3. Ham ‘n’ Eggs by a Tribe Called Quest

This song is a funky shopping list of food. The opening rift “I don’t eat no ham ‘n’ eggs cos’ they’re high in cholesterol” speaks to my very soul.
Even if you’re not cleansing, this happy little hip-hop number will get yer toes tapping and yer head nodding.
Happy Hump Day Y’all. Juice On!

2 thoughts on “Hump Day Hunger – I’m ffing STARVING

Leave a Reply

